Opioid Response Region 4 Council Agenda May 1, 2023 10:00 am Virtual Meeting Attendance

On May 1, 2023 at 10:00 am Commissioners from across the Eastern District attended a virtual meeting to continue the work of the Opioid Response Region 4 Council. Present were:

Board Members: Scott Weaver – Yuma County, Terry Hofmeister – Phillips County, Chris Richardson – Elbert County, Commander JD Ross – Sterling PD, Kevin Blankenship, City of Sterling, Stan Hitchcock – Kit Carson County, Sheriff Dave Martin – Morgan County, Greg Tacha – Town of Limon, Mike Brownell – Logan County, Gordon Westhoff – Morgan County,

Advisory Council Members: Valerie Boyd – Kit Carson County Public Health, Michelle Pemberton – Northeast Colorado Health Department, Dwayne Smith – Elbert County Public Health, Spencer Green – Centennial Mental Health

Also present: Tonya Wheeler — Advocates for Recovery Colorado, Jennifer Mackender - Colorado Consortium, Angela Govea — Milestone Community Wellness, Kristin Carpenter-Colorado Consortium, Dwayne Smith- Elbert County, Colleen McCroskey- County Attorney, Yuma County, Wanda Lousberg — Red Sea Crossing Colorado, MJ Jorgensen — NCHA

Minutes

Issues were raised with the April minutes. The April minutes will be revised and were approved based on suggested revision.

COAC Updates

The Opioid Abatement Innovation Challenge and Infrastructure Share Funding Opportunities will be released by the Attorney General's office soon.

Financial Reports

There have been no financial changes to report since last meeting. As money is given to RFP recipients, there will be updates given to the Council.

Organizational Updates

Kenneth S. Fellman, Esq. has given his approval to the Region 4 Opioid Council Bylaws. Kevin Blankenship moved to approve the bylaws. Commissioner Hofmeister seconded the motion. It passed by unanimous vote.

Introduction of OMNI Institute Team

Ailala Kay introduced two additional members from OMNI Institute who will be supporting the Council – Stacey McClellan and Lauren Rosenbaum. To reach a member of the OMNI team, email reg4support@omni.org.

Transportation RFPs

Recipients of the Transportation RFPs gave brief updates.

Spencer Green (Centennial Mental Health): No significant updates. They had a clinical retreat with providers the previous week where he heard of a lot of need for transportation for clients, which the funding from the RFP will help.

MJ Jorgensen (NCHA): He sent infrastructure proposals and is working on MOU language for organizational partnerships. He's waiting on the Council for contracts before moving forward. He expressed excitement from his staff.

Awarded RFPs will be posted to the website so non-voting members can read through them.

Evaluation Design and Abatement Plan Implementation Support

Ailala discussed OMNI's role moving forward including meeting implementation and reporting on upcoming grant opportunities.

Upcoming Grants/Funding Opportunities

Ailala went through upcoming grant opportunities, gauging interest from Council members, and discussing possible community partners that could write the grant applications. Grants included: Rural Emergency Medical Services Training Grant, Overdose Data to Action: Limiting Overdose through Collaborative Actions in Localities (OD2A: LOCAL), Rural Communities Opioid Response Program - Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health (RCORP-CABH), Treatment, Recovery, and Workforce Support Grants, BJA FY 23 Smart Reentry: Expanding Jail Programs and Services.

Unscheduled Business

A question was asked if the Council was still open to receiving applications for the transportation RFP. It was noted that the most recent RFP is closed. Chairman is open to hearing ideas for a new RFP.

Rules were clarified that non-voting members can ask questions at any point throughout the meeting.

Clarification was given around how transportation to treatment sites work for people who live in Region 4 but are in justice facilities outside Region 4.
Next Meeting The next Council meeting is planned for Monday, June 5 th at 10:00 a.m.
The meeting adjourned at 11:00.
Scott Weaver, Chairman